The inescapable higher value of working for it

If you're a forward thinking hopeful of internet possibilities, but not yet read any CJ Eller, you've hours of thought-provoking reading pleasure ahead of you.

Take Stumble Upon Conversation, for example, wherein I found the following:

And that brings up a question – is there a need for notifications? Shouldn't we know whether we are quoted on a post? Wouldn't that facilitate more conversation? It might.

Part of me immediately went “Yes! I want to be notified when I've been read and – even more so – quoted!”

But I soon enough realized that would wreck the lion's share of the fun.

I get that modern blogging is somewhere between people being really in-the-moment about where they're at, and people writing articles informative about topics they consider themselves experts (enough) on.

So I want to peruse them all.

But it does feel like a special day when simply rummaging through the latest leads to not merely litter, but words me-myselves-and-I cobbled into what are hopefully complete – if not interesting – sentences.

And I'd much rather find those instances by having to comb through it all (and learn lots of stuff about both others and things they know) than to be notified someone read/quoted me – and therein/thereby possibly wind up missing out on the nuggets encountered only through the combing.