Just how brassy are thine tacks?

> Then it was writing out a blog post here, there, everywhere > regarding the six bills put forward by Congress to stop > Big Tech™ monopolies from eating the globe. (Actually, > I didn't post much about that here, but, now you know).

You might want to think about the power <coughs> of however many handfuls of words however many handfuls of powerless (relative to said monopolies) people spend their time staring at a screen over – especially given I'm pretty sure staring at screens doesn't hold a wet match to actually doing something. I mean, not to be critical. It took me a long time to finally realize how DOING THE VERY THING WE'RE DOING HERE just might be proof of having been hoodwinked by said Cabal™....

> Maybe a break from the WWW is in order? (although that > is quite difficult, frustrating, and immensely boring, > really). Or maybe just relegating my time spent online to > just writing?

If you really want to experience something, find some down-and-out kids, and... do whatever with them. Show them some moves on the court. Ask them what their lives are like. Tell 'em about that stereo gear stuff you're rather up on. ANYTHING but just sit in front of a screen.

There are some intensely big needs out there, and none of them are solved by being chained (I'm pretty sure I'm not exaggerating, there...) to a god-motherfucking-damned screen. They're maybe solved (or at least salved) by going to where there needs are, and pouring some attention and effort into them.

Maybe it's not kids. Maybe it's the elderly. Maybe people your age. Maybe people my age. Whatever you feel you might be able to work some “hey, I'm listening to ya” magic with.

My transitioning to teaching middle-schoolers math and compsci has been mind-bogglingly eye-opening. I mean, yeah, there's a huge sorrow aspect. But, my god, the feeling of seeing they're feeling understood and cared for? Of finally getting something others just glossed over with videos/worksheets/etc.?

Un. Fucking. Believable.

So what I'm pretty much saying here is when we cheat others of our talents, we cheat ourselves. We miss out on insanely satisfying payback.

But, no illusions here: it's hard. Takes a while to find the handle, to build momentum, trust, etc.

OR continue mostly staring at a screen and, well... you already know what I'm sayin'.....

Seems to me you've a ton to offer. But your words – while very well crafted – are more in the order of magnitude of pico-grams than pounds – let alone tons.

Your favorite fan, Inquiry