If you're lost, you can look, and you'll read..write..as... post after post

> The system worked well. Shopping in the store was less > stressful than I've found it really recently. And the > shelves were better stocked. There were only two items > on my list that I couldn't find. And neither of them were > “critical.”

I think we've become permanent believers in grocery deliveries. We probably avoided it over the years mostly for having grown up more poor, thus still being warmed by the embers of trying to be as fiscally conservative as possible.

But, my gosh, to not have to dick around on the road, and invariably with store frustrations, e.g. how you get in a checkout lane that has one person it it, and somehow four pass through the adjacent lane before that one person finally gives up the lane ghost?

And, in a way, shopping reminds me of the modern internet: way too much going on, too much to think about, too many choices to make, too many distractions. And I'd rather tip someone who otherwise might not have a job, anyway.

> old time radio is better than the crap thats out there now.

Jesus, yes. These days I “seek” (button) through the AM and FM bands once before trying to vomit outside the driver side window without getting too much on the inside of the pane....

> I'm no good at blogging. Or I should say I am “no good” > and I spend a lot of time blogging, but when people pervert > the hobby into something that is used for marketing/ers, > it's just super annoying.

Hear ya on the latter part.

But as for the former, well, I don't know what “good” means in blogging realms, but I really like your approach. Returning to your thread reminds me of returning to the “zine” section of the magazine racks at Barnes & Noble back in the early 1990s. I was too old for what was going on in that scene then (though not by nearly as much as now), but felt like I was tapping into really interesting undercurrents, possibly “new directions”, new thinking. And it seemed rather part and parcel with the whole “Local BBS” thing – though I'd been doing that for quite some time, and was quite possibly already a genuine internetzien, working some super early version of Slackware, or whatever.

I can definitely still hear the modem....

(Shit... what the fuck was the name of that first “ISP” I signed up with? Ugh... totally wiped from memory.. although I definitely remembering fucking with esoteric Linux networking files to finally get connection/networking/email settings just right...)

But it's a combination of things melding positively when it comes to your offerings. The age difference provides that sense of possibly learning “what's really going on” with younger-than-I people I likely couldn't understand in terms of whatever they listen to, watch, follow these days.

But then there's your rather compelling “ongoing-ness”. I look forward to learning what happened next – even if it turns out to be just another cup of coffee. :–)

> Anyway, those are my thoughts after waking up. Coffee now.

See? ;–)

Anyway, I'm settling into a glass of “Old Rasputin” beer (my apologies if any “liberals” just shit their pants on seeing the word 'putin' in that brand name). 'Tis a favorite I lucked into probably half a decade ago and a really great Mediterranean restaurant this town once had.

Oh my God... so fucking yummy!

I also have my “drinking timer” running. It's something I wisely instituted about half a year ago.. then combination of forgot about and said “fuck it!” to... but I've been paying The Price ever since.

What it is is simply a 90-minute timer on my phone called “drink”. I set it off when I start imbibing a drink. I can't start another one until the timer goes of. (And of course it has to be a reasonable drink – you know, as opposed to a pint glass of straight Jameson... which I'm capable of, by the way...).

I've probably mentioned this before, by my mind continues to resist thinking I'm 59. Even in that previous parenthetical did I want to add something about “which is pretty damned impressive for 49...”....