Would you be mine, could you be mine, won't you be my reader?

> Such is our work, too.

I get the feeling it's less about us doing something (“work”) than to not see what isn't as though it were.

> Instead of REacting to life’s circumstances, and > (foolishly/incorrectly) saying the world is happening TO > me, ACTing on my surroundings and (intelligently/correctly) > saying the world is happening FOR me! > > This is the approach I am taking moving forward into 2020

I'm in favor so long as it facilitates your posting here.

> Today I am 71 years old, plus one day.

Now that I'd never have guessed!

> Is it inappropriate to just type “lol” on Write.as and > have it be my title and blog post? I sometimes feel the > need to sub-blog something I see on the WWW, and have no > sosh to do so, so perhaps I can just “lol-it” on the > ole w.a every so often when I am amused (or disgusted) > with a service or body of content on the Internet?

I'm under the impression pretty much anything goes but violations of write.as principles.

Oh my God, “Oats & Blueberries” is one of the most beautiful things I've ever read here.

> (except inquiry, who I consider to be a decent fella)

Oh, wow. That's very nice to know. Thank you!

> But it isn’t just the lack of response, no comments > section, or link with which to find me and send me their > take on what I have written – but the interface of w.a > and having nothing else that possibly COULD distract me > from saying what I want to say is the draw of the service, > I believe.

I can't remember the last time I actually typed directly into the write.as posting buffer.

I run a command from a bash shell within a tmux window within the Chromebook Linux “terminal” application that opens a file in the vi(m) editor, then prompts for a URL after I quit the editor.

After that, I open write.as in one browser tab, then an empty tab in which I press Ctrl-o, which opens an “open file” dialog. Double clicking on the file I edited puts a copy of it in the now no-longer-empty tab, where I Ctrl-a/Ctrl-c to copy it, Ctrl-w to kill that tab, then Ctrl-v the text into the write.as post buffer, after that I click on that right-arrow-ish symbol that results in the post.

Then I Ctrl-a/Ctrl-c in the browser URL/search bar, then Ctrl-v that in the aforementioned URL prompt, which appends the post to a file intended to accumulate my posts, complete with their URL and a timestamp.

I suppose it sounds like a lot of work, but it seems to be the most efficient way given copying an entire file's worth of text from a vi(m) session is a hassle when there's more than a page worth (unless there's a magic command/keystroke that can put the entire content into the copy/paste buffer..?). I tend to despise struggling/fumbling with the trackpad when definitive keystrokes work far better for me.

> Marriage is born of pure sex, never made by deadly hex.

Oh yeah? Then how do you explain 0xdeadbeef?

> To be honest, I don’t know why the cards were dealt > this way, and I remain positive, but, it is atrocious > that my life gets siphoned away into nothingness while > everyone else ...basically wastes their time with frivolous > shit. This is probably another reason I so deeply adore > the desolate, painful genre of Black Metal. It makes me > happy that so many other people out there are in a boat > similar to mine. Some people have lives of isolation > and depression, and I fall into the category of one of > those people. I don’t know why. After years, I stopped > caring why.

Life is a craps table whose house – you know, the only one that wins – is entropy.

Stay healthy, keep your mind as empty of drama (i.e. stories of selves) as possible, learn, enjoy your minimalism, find mentors with the power to make things possible for others, i.e. those in the “who” class of the phrase “it's not what you know, it's who you know”.

And, most importantly (I'm somewhat joking while somewhat not), listen to nothing but Beatles songs for the next two years....

> I still spin some upbeat, fun tracks every so often > (such as stuff from JJAMZ, Great Grandpa, Hop Along), > But mainly it’s darker stuff these days.

The darker stuff reference has me remembering days of borderline worshipping Depeche Mode's “Ultra” and “Exciter” albums.

> They cover the revelations about why the Jewish people > have been persecuted through the ages (you always wanted > to know, didn’t you?)

I could be wrong, but to me it's seemed a special case of how the dumber of the species tend to want to mock – if not persecute/bully – those they (somehow) perceive as more intelligent than themselves.

> This newsletter thing is part of an effort to become more > in line with the slow web, which is basically a way to stop > the firehose of information and opinions we see every time > we look at out phones.

Huh. I'd somehow not heard of that before.

> Maybe the explanation from the Frys corporate office is > valid. Maybe their shelves are empty because they’re in > the process of changing their business and supply model > and maybe the transition is taking a bit longer than anyone > would like.

Three maybe's is some pretty impressive generosity given what we probably can guess.

> We street-proof our kids. Why aren't we data-proofing them?

Perhaps because it became politically incorrect to actually parent much at all at least 40 years ago?