When incognito ascii becomes a priority

I've created the most amazing breakthrough in sneaking around behind others despite being right out in the open. It's a Lua utility that puts the terminal in “raw” mode, then intercepts all keystrokes, pushing them to a file, but putting on the screen characters from a completely different file, the latter occurring at the same speed of typing, i.e. it looks as though I'm typing what's in that other file.

Does that make sense? It's kind of a weird thing to describe..

So, while you're reading what I actually typed, what appeared on my screen as I typed was this:

#! /usr/bin/env lua if not arg[1] then print('missing url') os.exit() end local curl =
and so on because I had pointed the utility to a file containing some Lua code. (I could also have pointed it to a URL from which to get its “replacement text” (thank you, cURL!).)

It takes a little getting used to, and of course one makes mistakes invisible mistakes along the way, so a bit of editing is required later – when prying eyes aren't so dearly near.

But I think it's nearly as cool as Mountain Dew and Doritos combined.