What a joy, this stream!

People on the train, reading RFC's, agonizing over how of their attention is enthralled with and/or numbed by and/or obliterated by The Internet, a bunch of stuff I can't read because it isn't written in English.

Feels like a genuine river. And it's good to be wet instead of land-locked.

Actually, email is far and away my favorite online phenomenon – but, my gosh, it takes the acts of several deities and a handful of purely coincidental miracles to attain unto correspondents that are both worth reading and last.

Which, of course, might be saying more about me, and I'm willing to accept that. But, I dunno, I've always felt kind of texturally fun. So there's been a whole lot of “What gives?” consternation over the years, despite having been lucky enough to encounter and somehow wax worthy of the attention of a two extremely inbox intelligent and pleasant correspondents.

And they're opposite gender to boot!

I met both in the glorious yet now defunct “Craigslist” personals (platonic sector).

I can't tell you how much I miss that place, which I enjoyed referring to as “CL Platonia”.

I like that email is personal and private, engenders context accumulation, and don't get me going on the joy of inline quoting.

So, yeah, this is very different than that, so I hope I find a way to remain interested. I keep telling myselves I can enjoy being mostly an observer, then an amateur writer with occasional references to others streamtributions. But, like I said, I'm mostly an email kind of guy, so I can't help but wonder whether this will too soon come to feel more like an isolation tank. Sure, such watery enclosures have their own advantages (as one John C. Lilly attested), but they ain't got inbox funnel directly to and only for me.