The great oscillating righteousness competition

The essence of “news” these days seems to be what I want to call “circling the nanny nanny boo-boo drain”.

In other words: shaming.

Which, well, I mean, if you're trying to influence behavior, I suppose it can work. Maybe.

Nah. Probably not – or not when the recipients are similarly inflammable egos, at any rate.

What's ironic about it to me when coming from “progressive” spaces is I remember a time when “progressives” were perpetually up in arms about “conservatives” being such killjoys ever on the verge of manifesting fits of self-righteousness. Even back then did “progressives” seemingly consider themselves “woke” above and beyond “conservative” tendencies to be concerned with Right/Wrong – at least to what “progressives” felt was “to a fault”. But they mostly rolled their eyes followed by winks/smiles to each other, indicating how glad they were to be so “above it all” for realizing how silly all that ridiculous (especially when religious) righteousness crap is/was.

Oddly, though, these days I swear I'm far and away seeing more of that kind of high and mighty behavior spurting from “progressive” egos.

Perhaps such is yet another case of people becoming what/who they hate?