The Bluenited States of Redmerica

We so enjoyed Colin Quinn: Red State Blue State last night. I'm happy to know I'm not the only one capable of seeing the shenanigans of “sides” (as opposed to how those thoroughly identified with a “side” can see only the deficiencies of the “other” side).

I also chanced upon and enjoyed these couple software-development-related quotes:

"There are two ways of constructing a software design: One way is
 to make it so simple that there are obviously no deficiencies,
 and the other way is to make it so complicated that there
 are no obvious deficiencies."

and:

"Every program attempts to expand until it can read mail. Those
 programs which cannot so expand are replaced by ones which can."

Personally, I want to live in a computer world where one window can have keyboard input focus while another has visual focus, so I can type notes into the former while viewing a full-screen version of the latter, i.e. without the former overlaying any of the latter.

But after a little digging I suspect I'd sooner be able to engineer, build, and successfully launch a rocket than find a way to do that....