Strange days indeed

I've some code that scrapes read.write.as, and lately it's been seeing odd results in the sense that some urls in anchor elements pointing to individual posts occasionally fail, but then change a little while later to urls that work.

For example, last night a “Poseur to Composer” post was associated with this link:

https://write.as/poseur-to-composer/i-remember-the-first-sunday-i-went-back-to-church-after-15-plus-years-of

which didn't work a la:

This page is missing.

Are you sure it was ever here?

But then just a few minutes later, the same scraping code turned up this url for the same post:

https://write.as/poseur-to-composer/power-of-hymns

and it works fine.

No idea why that might be. At first I imagined maybe the author changed the post title. But my recollection of doing that was that it doesn't lead to the url changing.

So, hmmm.

It is at once an individual library and a public library. And perhaps that is what the web is in a nutshell.

I suspect individual minds have all kinds of ideas about what it is to the model of the self in the same mind space.

But how that maps to some alleged objective (i.e. not merely mind stuff) reality is another matter altogether.

When I first found minimalism, I realized I had kind of been doing it ever since I was a kid. My family home had a lot of junk in it, and I think I intuitively found order by culling possessions and organizing my bedroom meticulously. That later transitioned into lightening my online presence and getting rid of social media. I eventually experimented with getting rid of my smartphone, and found that, for me, it was better to have one and find ways to manage usage (Forest).

The only minimalism that really matters is minimalism of taking thoughts to be some sort of objective reality.

Be the joke you want to hear

We already are, as there's no greater joke than taking oneself to be the shallow clownish mind model re-presenting ineffable depth.

And if you see a clown, try saying hello. Could be there's a joke brewing!

Hey Ya! ;–)

(Indeed, that was a reference to that wonderful Outkast song from what is suddenly seeming like a long time ago....)

Time to move it move it. No longer is my home in Cambodia. I have no home. And that’s how I like it. For the next 7 months I wander. All I have in a 45 liter backpack and daypack. Possessions almost none. Joy and wonder great. First to Vietnam. Then onward.

Best of luck, Mike!

Where are you telling yourself context stories with strong undertones? How might awareness of those undertones give you space to create a new story?

If there is a reality, it surely isn't stories about it (including the story about it about to appear after the right parenthesis and comma coming in three, two..), but that by which stories about it are possible.

This is going to be difficult to parse, but: stories, regardless their contextual details, are mind-stuff masking im-mediate (i.e. not mediated by mind-stuff/stories/whatever-you-want-to-call-it) realization of that namelessness by which mind-stuff is possible.