Rantalicious ecstasy

> The government is neutral,

That (phrase) is possibly the funniest thing I've ever read! ;–)

> Since the beginning of Extratone, I've done my best > to consolidate important reads of my own into our > publicly-available reading list channel on Discord

Sounded great until I followed the reading list link to discover I'd need to “join”, i.e. create yet another walled-garden login.

Nopers. Done with that.

I'm with tmo/olry in – if I'm remembering correctly (sorry if I'm not, tmo/olry) – being far more interested in RSS-like mechanisms. I want to be able to tune in and filter, not login and be tracked (or whatever the fuck that model's really more about..).

I suppose this risks sounding elitist, but in my mind if you can't produce content that compels people to donate without even being asked/told to, then put your shit out there for free and be done with it. Erecting these goddamned login hoops, with all the typically associated happy horseshit CSS popup/popdown pleas for joining/subscribing? Surely that's run its course – or soon enough will have.

I suppose I'm possibly sounding critical of write.as in that regard. But, on the contrary, write.as doesn't feel at all like that sort of insanity to me. Rather, write.as enables what I want to call happy-horseshit-less publishing. And surely that can't happen for free. The write.as subscription models seem fantastically reasonable to me. (In fact, I actually feel a little guilty for having gotten early into a now grandfathered subscription plan whose benefits far exceed the cost... <gives his rising guilt yet another downward nudge>).

I mean, far too many modern sites literally look like they're having an epileptic fit when loading, for godssakes... and I'm not at all interested in sympathetic vibration(s) from that infecting my already fragile nervous-eco-system....

> I'll be posting some of my all-time favorites from the > past few years in this Twitter thread.

<cringes at the very sight of the word 'Twitter'>