Pondering dear, long-lost acquaintances

Every now and then, people from my less than compelling past narrative come to mind, triggering nostalgia rushes followed soon enough by the desire to “get in touch”.

But it can be tough for varieties of reasons, e.g.:

(NOTE: if you're a member of Antilistfa, you might want to close your eyes until you scroll a bit further down...)

Yesterday, someone I had years of platonic – yet still secretive – fun with came to mind, and we're both a couple times geographically removed from where our nearly weekly platonia ensued. She was always kind of notorious about privacy, but I happen to know a couple keywords that I suspected might smoke her out of her anonymity bunker – part of which turned out to be a store within amazon.com.

So there I was, innocently scrolling that page of hers, when the following words associated with an html <a> tag suddenly jumped out at me:

“Contact me with general inquiries”

Oh my....

So, what to do, what to do?

There's a good chance she'd not reply. But I vastly rather my contacting her were via a throw-away email address, expressing things only I could know about our past to “prove” my identity, but at least not (what I imagine could be) surrendering significant Amazon account contact data with her, as I've no idea what personal information a seller there could be privy to when receiving a “general inquiry”.

But there are others, many others: coworkers, collegiate accomplices, barflies, people for whom I was as much a third-party pleasant surprise to them as they were to me at events hosted by common acquaintances, etc., etc.

'D' was (is? me needs to know!) about as girlie a girl can get (I know, because many a time did I sit on her toilet smoking a cigarette while she (as she called it) “transformed herself” into being the most desirable girl in bar); cat person; crazy about an adonis that couldn't stay faithful; probably holds the record for number of Captain Morgan and Cokes in a Lifetime; halfway decent pool player; cribbage player too (a game I taught her, actually).

Oh, crap, I'm suddenly remembering aspects of what became a falling out....

I'd already moved on to a new home life in a completely different state, but the new woman was supremely insecure over the news that I had this amazing platonic friend in my past, and who basically forbade my communicating with her.

Which, well, 'D' did not take that news well. She was very much “if you can't stand up to her for the sake of our friendship, then forget it”.

And I get that – even agree with it.

But, sadly, I've never been able to deal well with what seems like hysteria over aspects of my life – especially on the home front. It's always seemed far easier to pinch hysteria-rod matters off, and leave them behind.

Oh well.