It's always something... (I'm looking at you, software!)

I caught a huge break last night what with not getting arrested for PUI (Posting Under the Influence)!

That's not to say I got off “Scott Free”. I do vaguely remember cursing after seeing my “markdown” behaving more like “meltdown” in my first attempt to include code containing angle brackets within <pre></pre> tags.

Having vaguely remembered never finding any definitive documentation on “markdown” (giving me the impression it's more a multiply-implemented “loose notion” than a standard), I didn't want to spend half of forever trying to figure out why most of the code was flat out missing in the published-for-browser version (I think it came to a visual grinding halt on the first '<'), I took a drunken wild guess that replacing <'s with:

<

and >'s with:

>

might rectify the situation.

But of course I botched the change by typing '^' instead of '&' when I did the global replacements. And now I'm too lazy and/or disinterested to fight with trying to make things right. So if you're crazy enough to try this stuff, keep in mind that all instances of '^lt;' should be '<', and all instances of '^gt;' should be '>'....

(And of course I'm braced (haha) to see something in what I just ground out come out of the write.as markdown grinder other than as intended....)

Let's see... what else did I texturally “accomplish” while barking at the moon...?

Oh yeah, that long and winding pseudo job and/or computing history post... yikes....

<clears throat>

> Where could you create more space for relationships that > enrich your life?

Wild guess: in the huge swaths of time I spend doing this?

ADDENDUM: I give up. The whatever-they're-called codes for angle brackets get interpreted inside pre tags no matter what I try, so it obviously doesn't look right, above, and now I'm pissed off and really don't have time to be dicking around with trying to figure out seemingly nonsensical escape sequences....

<throws hands in the air>