I really needed a day like this

> One way this plays out is in our “frenetic pursuit of > wholeness and satisfaction,” as Peter phrases it. We're > always seeking out that thing (especially this time of > year!) that will make us whole and satisfied, or at least > more whole and satisfied.

Standard issue external compensation for internal emptiness.

> What does the media want?

There is no such thing. But those who believe there is and believe they're in it likely want what egos always want: “the world, chico.. and everything in it...”

> The ultimate product of the media is not the content but > us, it lulls us into comfortable anger, confuses us with > information overload, distracts us and in the end makes us > be what it intended in the first place, docile humans who > will work and live, maintaining the status quo. The media > makes us complacent in having voice, making sure that we > have just the right amount, not more and not less. When > we choose to vote with our eyeballs and keystrokes we are > pandering to this opinion forming machine. So what does the > media really want? In short, nothing less than your soul.

No wonder I've felt so good since letting it go!

> And a Christmas tree has officially been purchased. Not > a Snoopy Tree, though.

You know, I sometimes wonder how deeply olderish tropes penetrate newerish minds.

Super satisfying day, here on this end: replaced a shower head, wrote several emails, a couple posts here, dealt with a lot of leaves that should have been dealt with a month ago, house de-entropizing, showered, got me a load of laundry making swishy wet progress, revisiting some incredible soup I vacuum froze (I can't tell you how much I love that device..) even as I type.

Of course, I'm probably going to be in serious pain tomorrow. But for all I know I don't even live that long, so why worry about that?