Fingers enjoying the keyboard jig again

I loved this Entropy as Disorder: History of a Misconception article.

But it got me thinking more about a meta-matter than the topic at textural hand, what might be referred to as “Is splitting hairs ever about much more than wrangling about word meaning nuances?”.

The article does a fine job of pointing out the word 'entropy' is not necessarily always a drop-in replacement for the word 'disorder'.

But as I pondered the argument(s), I couldn't help but think (realize?) the hullabaloo was more (if not entirely) about the meanings of words than so-called reality itself.

Which, well, multiply that by ascii gazillions, and you've got the textural sub-context/domain of the internet.

“<word> means <this>!”

Or (worse yet):

“<word> IS <this>!”

followed by what is essentially either:

“No it doesn't/isn't!”

“Yes it does/is!”

...

or

“No it doesn't/isn't!”

“Yes it does/is!”

...

“Oh, wait a second.. after a bit more thought, yes it does/is!”

But in such purely conceptual drama of ego clash is whatever reality the words reference completely unaffected by all that huffery puffery.

Ain't da online life just da bomb(s going off)?

On a different matter, I'm so looking forward to experiencing this video linked to by mikka luster's “How long...” post.

Why am I waiting?

Well, it's a little complicated. Let's just say my partner is milling about my writing space, and I have to know in advance that content capable of escaping the screen (e.g. audio) isn't going to be NSFP (Not Safe For Partner), e.g. has a high probability of provoking questioning whose answering could possibly lead to a future “piecing together” of my otherwise mostly clandestine online activities.

And we can't have that happening.

Yeah, I realize that probably sounds pathetic – probably because it is. (Or – in the context of some of the above – “is”...)

But, well, enough of my life has run aground of others opinions of what I should be doing with my life to the point of their actually becoming upset about such, that such precautions still feel embarrassingly necessary.