Do ya, do ya want my post?

> I don’t want to just slap a copycat subscription feature > on our blogs and call it a day. Like everything, I want > to approach this with my own eyes, after surveying the > current landscape, talking to our unique group of writers, > and asking “Why?” to everything along the way.

What a shame that for all the coding brilliance atop so much hope for online worlds out there, someone still hasn't found a way to mimic – let alone improve upon – a mother-flippin' tip jar....

It kinda makes me wonder whether the trip to said worlds has been mostly a delusional waste of time.

I think an aspect difficult to swallow for most with the writing bug up their ass is that most people just plain don't want to pay for things they believe ought to be free unless it's mind-boggling and/or emotionally overpowering, and that the vast majority of “content” just plain don't rise to that level. Instead of attempting to find ways to “monetize” such content, authors thereof basically need to get over the fact that the vast majority of what they create really, truly has no significant impact and/or value save through their nearly infinitely biased eyes.

Including – yea, especially – this. :–)

I mean, I've whined 'a plenty about how few writers seem to have time and/or interest in acknowledging others in their posts. But upon further reflection, and more in line with the above, people are just being honest about most of it not being worth acknowle-mentioning.

Or maybe it's just a supply and demand kind of thing wherein there being so much good content provokes the unintended consequence of devaluing it all....?

(C'mon! There has to a posting economist out there somewhere....)

> No journals in July must mean I screwed up again. I > failed. Yet, when I look back at my month there is not > evidence to support that. On the surface, there are no > journals. Yet, the strongest feeling I have is guilt for > not writing the journals. There are not other regrets to > ruminate on or traumatic events that I can recall in an > instant. That doesn't mean I was a unicorn pooping rainbows > of joy last month. I did struggle at times, but here I am, > on the other side of the month.

It's literally nothing but what you think it is, meaning it changes the instant you think differently about it.

Of course, thinking you can't change your thinking can be quite the pickle.... ;–)