Diddle me this, Gatesman....

> I can’t stand battery saver on iOS. If I am not > constantly putting in text, the screen goes to sleep > damn near immediately. Like, yes that is the best way > to save battery, but it is really cheating, yes? No real > “innovations” in terms of turning off background apps > or anything like that. Just, SHUT THE PHONE OFF the second > I am not using it. #Lame

I absolutely detest devices/systems that shut themselves off. And I'd honestly be thinking that even were I in a wood chipper that turned itself off. I can't stand being treated like a child assumed to be not careful enough to be treated otherwise.

Thankfully, I found ways to keep the Chromebook and Android phone displays on until I explicitly turn them off.

But my work Windows laptop (whose settings along those lines can't be changed save by the employer)? Complete and total nightmare. I'm constantly having to reach out to diddle the touchpad so I don't have to login again.

But it doesn't end there. Being an utter “Windows shop”, I'm given Windows virtual machines for projects/integrations that also keep making me log back in every 10 minutes, or whatever the nightmare fuck it is. So between those and my actual laptop, I spend a non-trivial amount of time rushing between the three to diddle them to avoid having to login again... which of course now makes me wonder if it would just be better to let that happen, since it's going to be time down the drain anyway?

And <feeling a bit embarrassed now> why the fuck do I care anyway? If that's how they want me pay me to spend non-trivial time, why not just consider it part of the job, and be sure to list it as “accomplishments” when reporting status? “Oh, one more thing... I spent 10% of my time remaining logged into my Windows environments so avoid spending 11% of my time logging in all over again....”

Just ridiculously infantile....

> I need a #writing project (such as an e-book) and I want > that writing inspiration to hit me soon. There is still > the possibility of me exporting this blog as an ePub > document and there was some talk of that at one point, > but I don’t know when that will happen. If/when it does > happen, this blog will be turned into a sort of e-book. I > will look for “patterns” and “repetition” in my > writing and focus in on what is worth keeping, and write > a separate document about what was written as sort of > a “Self-analyzation”. Some of that sounds very A > Beautiful Mind-ish, but it is a lot saner (and lamer) > than you think.

Surely the title “Pipe Dreams” should be in running, amirite? ;–)

> the fact that there are good arguments both for and against > allowing comments on blogs

For the 666th time, what am I doing in this here sentence?

> Well, if I had done one blog post per day, that was 500 > words, seven days a week, for fourteen years – that > equals 2,555,000 words written. Realistically it is > much, Much higher a number. That is why I am rounding to > 3 Million words written. Perhaps more like 4 or even 6 > million words. I was shocked when I started to think about > it all, starting with a (failed to previously mention) > e-book I wrote in 2014/15 titled “Job Corps Rule!” > that was ended at 100K words, which is 10% of 1M, which > got me to crunching numbers.

Fun look-back!

I got rather angry at my partner last night, and somehow in conjunction started questioning the value of my doing this (blogging thing), to the point of pounding some gobbledeegook in a file named “write.end”.

But in this moment is a cooler head prevailing.

File deleted....

<he types, reaching out to diddle the work laptop's touchpad....>